Reading Lists → Lord Of The Rings

Lord Of The Rings Books In Order (Full List)

Lord Of The Rings is a series of 4 books by J.r.r. Tolkien. The first book published in the series is The Hobbit in 1937. Here is a complete list of Lord Of The Rings books in order.

Last update: January 11, 2024

1. The Hobbit (1937)

In this timeless adventure by J.R.R. Tolkien, join Bilbo Baggins, a reluctant hobbit, as he sets out on an epic quest with a group of dwarves to reclaim their kingdom and face a fearsome dragon. This enthralling tale is filled with captivating characters and breathtaking landscapes that will transport readers to Middle-earth.

  • 📇 366 Pages
  • 📝 91,500 - 109,800 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 12 Hours Reading Time

2. The Two Towers (1954)

"The Two Towers" by J.R.R. Tolkien is the spellbinding second installment of the iconic Lord of the Rings trilogy, continuing the epic journey of Frodo Baggins as he faces new foes, enduring tests of friendship and loyalty, while darkness engulfs Middle-earth.

  • 📇 448 Pages
  • 📝 112,000 - 134,400 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 15 Hours Reading Time

3. The Fellowship Of The Ring (1954)

Journey into J.R.R. Tolkien's captivating Middle-earth with "The Fellowship of the Ring". Unleash your imagination as Frodo, a humble hobbit, embarks on an epic quest, uniting a diverse group of companions to destroy a powerful and corrupting ring. An enduring tale of friendship, hope, and the timeless battle between

  • 📇 432 Pages
  • 📝 108,000 - 129,600 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 14 Hours Reading Time

4. The Return Of The King (1955)

"The Return of the King" is the epic conclusion to J.R.R. Tolkien's mesmerizing fantasy trilogy, "The Lord of the Rings." Immerse yourself once more in a world of bravery, sacrifice, and triumph as Frodo and the Fellowship face their ultimate destiny.

  • 📇 432 Pages
  • 📝 108,000 - 129,600 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 14 Hours Reading Time