Reading Lists → Outlander

Outlander Books In Order (Full List)

Outlander is a series of 9 books by Diana Gabaldon. The first book published in the series is Outlander in 1991. Here is a complete list of Outlander books in order.

Last update: January 11, 2024

1. Outlander (1991)

In Diana Gabaldon's captivating and spirited novel, Outlander, a time-travelling nurse named Claire Randall is transported from 1945 to 18th-century Scotland, where she embarks on a passionate and dangerous journey filled with romance, history, and adventure.

  • 📇 850 Pages
  • 📝 212,500 - 255,000 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 28 Hours Reading Time

2. Dragonfly In Amber (1992)

In "Dragonfly In Amber" by Diana Gabaldon, follow Claire Randall on a gripping time-travelling journey as she navigates 18th-century Scotland and unravels the secrets of her past. A mesmerizing blend of romance, history, and adventure that will leave you captivated until the very last page.

  • 📇 947 Pages
  • 📝 236,750 - 284,100 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 32 Hours Reading Time

3. Voyager (1993)

In Diana Gabaldon's Voyager, the heart-pounding third installment of the Outlander series, time-traveling lovers Claire and Jamie reunite across centuries, embarking on an epic voyage that tests their resilience, devotion, and the limits of their extraordinary bond.

  • 📇 870 Pages
  • 📝 217,500 - 261,000 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 29 Hours Reading Time

4. Drums Of Autumn (1996)

In Diana Gabaldon's captivating "Drums of Autumn," the fourth installment of the Outlander series, time-traveling Claire and her husband Jamie journey to the wild land of North Carolina, where they encounter danger, love, and the thrilling promise of a new beginning.

  • 📇 928 Pages
  • 📝 232,000 - 278,400 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 31 Hours Reading Time

5. The Fiery Cross (2001)

In "The Fiery Cross" by Diana Gabaldon, the gripping fifth installment of the Outlander series, Jamie and Claire Fraser navigate the dangerous backdrop of the American Revolution, testing their resilience, love, and determination in a compelling tale of loyalty and sacrifice.

  • 📇 1,443 Pages
  • 📝 360,750 - 432,900 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 48 Hours Reading Time

6. A Breath Of Snow And Ashes (2005)

In Diana Gabaldon's captivating novel, "A Breath Of Snow And Ashes," the Fraser family faces new challenges and dangers in pre-revolutionary America. Set amidst the raw beauty of the wilderness, this gripping tale explores loyalty, courage, and the enduring power of love.

  • 📇 980 Pages
  • 📝 245,000 - 294,000 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 33 Hours Reading Time

7. An Echo In The Bone (2009)

In "An Echo In The Bone" by Diana Gabaldon, the gripping tale of Jamie and Claire Fraser continues as they navigate treacherous plots, loyal friendships, and time-traveling adventures that have the power to echo across centuries. A captivating blend of historical fiction, romance, and suspense awaits.

  • 📇 820 Pages
  • 📝 205,000 - 246,000 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 27 Hours Reading Time

8. Written In My Own Heart's Blood (2014)

In Diana Gabaldon's "Written In My Own Heart's Blood," the gripping eighth installment of the Outlander series, love, loyalty, and lost identities intertwine against the backdrop of the American Revolution. Settle in for a heart-stopping adventure through time and war.

  • 📇 825 Pages
  • 📝 206,250 - 247,500 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 28 Hours Reading Time

9. Go Tell The Bees That I Am Gone (2021)

In the much-anticipated ninth installment of the Outlander series, Diana Gabaldon invites readers to embark on a mesmerizing journey as Claire and Jamie Fraser navigate love, loss, and the ever-shifting tides of history. Go Tell The Bees That I Am Gone will leave fans eagerly awaiting the next chapter in this epic saga.

  • 📇 902 Pages
  • 📝 225,500 - 270,600 Word Count
  • ⏱️ 30 Hours Reading Time